Boys Will Be Boys

Seven and three quarter years ago, this amazing tiny being entered my life, literally cut out of my tummy. I managed to live without him all those years prior but sometimes I do wonder how.  The love that I have for him is the most incredibly and inexplicably overwhelming feeling I have ever experienced.

Yet, somehow, also inexplicably, he is capable of driving me to the brink of insanity. How does that work? How can I go from wanting to pick him up and cuddle him forever one minute to wanting to hand him over to first person that walks past the next? But I know it’s normal. And I know that when he stops doing all the things that drive me nuts, I will miss it because it means he is growing up.  Although I have no doubt that some of these annoyances will continue throughout his male adulthood.  I can’t win either way but why would I want it any other way?

My Beautiful Boy

My Beautiful Boy

And because, like us, he loves eating and talks about food with such great passion, at the end of this piece I will share with you one of his (and our) favourite meals, Rick Stein’s Pasta Carbonara. No cream used yet deliciously creamy.

So here are some of the not-so-great things he does…

  • He walks through the front door behind me without closing it behind him.
  • He changes his clothes several times during the day and leaves them all over the floor. And often, they stink.
  • He stands by the side of my bed in the middle of the night, taps me gently on the arm and expects me to respond as I have been awake all that time.
  • He never taps his dad on the arm to wake him up.
  • He leaves the empty box in the pantry after removing the last packet of food from it.
  • He opens the pantry doors or fridge as soon as he gets home from school, grubby hands and all.
  • He insists on kicking the footy inside the house.
  • He “forgets” that he is not supposed to wear his footy boots in the house.
  • He commonly uses the words “In a minute.” “Wait.” “But” and “I just gotta” whenever I ask him to do something.
  • He spits on the footy field like his heroes do.
  • He knows exactly when I am vulnerable and too tired and then asks for something he wants. How does he know?
  • He yells out “muuuuum” never dad, even when we are both around.
  • He waits until I get on the telephone to talk to me.
  • He has the TV on really loud even though he is not really watching it.

Has anyone got anything else to add?

Rick Stein’s Pasta Carbonara

Rick Stein Penne Carbonara

Rick Stein Penne Carbonara

  • 400 g dried spaghetti (or any pasta – we love penne)
  • 175 g piece smoked pancetta, without rind (I use bacon most of the time)
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 finely chopped garlic cloves (a few times I didn’t have any so I substituted with finely chopped onion)
  • 2 tablespoons flat leaf parsley, finely chopped (never bothered but I am sure it’s good, I use basil sometimes)
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 50 g pecorino cheese, grated
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Cook the pasta in salted boiling water until al dente.

Meanwhile, cut the pancetta into lardons (little chunky strips about 6mm wide).

Heat a large frying pan over a medium-high heat, add the oil and pancetta. Stir until golden.

Add the garlic and parsley, heat for a few more seconds then remove from the heat.

Drain the spaghetti well, retaining a ladle or two of the cooking water, and add the pasta to the frying pan.

Mix well and add the water to create a bit of a sauce, then stir in the beaten eggs and half the cheese. Toss together.

The heat of the pasta will cook the eggs sufficiently to make them creamy.

Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with the remaining cheese sprinkled on top.

Rick Stein's Pasta Carbonara

This entry was posted in Food, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boys Will Be Boys

  1. jeannie says:

    Love it. Of course there will be the years when we embarrass them. My 3yr old already won’t hold my hand in public, unless he’s tired.

Leave a Reply

