It’s A New Year

It’s been over a month since my last post. Happy New Year! The longest rest stint I have ever had. With Christmas, New Year and school holidays thrown in between, I admit it’s been a little hard to get motivated.

The great news is though this weather has been great to my veggie garden. It’s been flourishing so much better than I ever could have imagined. I have harvested cucumbers, spinach, potatoes, chilli and basil. I am still waiting for the tomatoes to go red which seems to be a tiresomely long process. Naturally, they will all go red at once so tweet, facebook or comment below to share with me some great tomato relish and sauce recipes please!

Our first potato harvest. Wish I had planted more potatoes - I never thought in my wildest dreams it would turn out so well.

Our first potato harvest – we had around 30. Wish I had planted more of them – I never thought in my wildest dreams it would turn out so well.

I am not sure I will do that many restaurant reviews this year. It drove my husband nuts that I kept taking photos of the food we were eating. And after a while, I started to do in stealth myself. Sneakily taking photos while I thought no staff were looking. My husband threatened to start a blog called “Living with a food blogger” and it wasn’t going to be terribly nice.

Our first beetroot harvest. Made beetroot and feta dip.

Our first beetroot harvest. Made beetroot and feta dip.

And restaurant review blogging can become a bit of a stressful business. Sometimes, I like going to the same place rather than trying the new best thing. There’s nothing like an old favourite. And sometimes, I want to sit and enjoy my food rather than having to pull the camera or iphone out.

It doesn’t mean though that I won’t blog about food. Blogging is a moving feast (excuse the pun). That’s the great thing about it.

Interesting shape. I would never buy something that looked this in a supermarket but when it comes out your own veg patch, it's ok. Funny that.

Interesting shape. I would never buy something that looked this in a supermarket but when it comes out your own veg patch, it’s ok. Funny that.

Last night for dinner, we had home grown spinach, potatoes and yellow zucchini (from a friend). I fried up some chicken schnitzels coated with home made chunky breadcrumbs. I am still thinking about it, it was so good! No reason I can’t blog about that. My crumbs were made from some stale rye sourdough and ciabatta. I simply chucked it all into a food processor and whizzed it around until I thought it looked right – some chunks and some finer bits. Bread came from local bakeries not the supermarket. I have no doubt it made a difference because it simply tasted so divine.

So here’s to a New Year everyone. May you fill it full of delicious home grown food.

This entry was posted in Food, Going Green, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s A New Year

  1. Jacqui says:

    Wow! They look delicious! Well done 😀

Leave a Reply

