Fear Of The Pantry

I suffer from Pantry Phobia.

The fear of opening those pantry doors and discovering what is behind them.

Nutritional information. That is a contradiction in terms, isn’t it? When you say something is nutritious, it usually means it is good for you. Dictionary.com defines nutritious as “providing nourishment, especially to a high degree.” Not that something has too much fat, sugar or carbohydrates.

Wish my pantry looked like this!

Wish my pantry looked like this!
(Source: The Wardrobe Man)

I was joking with my sister-in-law that we spend so much of our time lurking in supermarkets, reading all the fine print on the labels. Comparing product after product. And has anyone noticed the fine print is getting smaller? And that we need to carry a dictionary around to understand the list of ingredients? I have to assume that any ingredient I don’t understand must be some sort of chemical.

Just because something is labelled healthy and natural doesn’t mean it actually is. And none of my family of three is gluten intolerant so why I am I even looking at the stuff? So far, I haven’t found anything that would be more delicious than the gluten variety.

Who doesn’t end up more than what is on the list, irrespective of whether you are carrying it on a piece of paper or in your head?  Even my “perfect” husband does! Supermarkets are so clever at manipulating you, especially when they know you don’t always have time to stand around reading labels. So then every time you open up that pantry door, you say to yourself “damn, I wish I hadn’t bought that but what a waste to throw it out!”

The key, of course, has to be balance and moderation. Luckily for me, I spend less time at the supermarket (well, technically, I go to the supermarket less but I probably spend more time there reading labels!). Nowadays, I flit between the organic shop, butcher, markets, local grocer and supermarket. I grow my own too. And people ask me what I do all day?! Thank goodness I work from home or it just wouldn’t be possible.

All that shopping around doesn’t mean I don’t feel guilty or fearful when I open that pantry door.

My latest thing…..? Sunscreen. That lives on the top shelf of the pantry. The more I read about it, the more I think we are better off without it. So now I am spending hours of research on finding the most natural one that is easy to apply, does not make you look pasty white and doesn’t cost the weekly wage. Where would we be without internet review forums? Probably a lot less stressed.

PS rosblogger is back. Been on a bit of a brain holiday. Seems to happy over the summer months. School holidays kind of takes over for a while.

This entry was posted in Food, Going Green, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fear Of The Pantry

  1. The supermarket really is a trap these days. I recently bought Michael Pollan’s tiny pocket-sized Food Rules book, its a good reminder of what to avoid and how to dodge all the chemical filled nonsense out there

  2. Have you ever heard of St. Johns/Joans Wort oil used as a natural herbal sunscreen? http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

