Festival Virgin

You’d think at that my age I would have been to a music festival or two by now. I have seen so many bands I have lost count but, at a proper festival in a far away place where people get to camp? Never.

In less than two weeks, it will be a different story. The Byron Bay Bluesfest story to be exact.

Byron Bay Bluesfest (source: http://www.bluesfest.com.au/)

Byron Bay Bluesfest (source: http://www.bluesfest.com.au/)

This time last year (well, actually, it was more like January 2013), my bestie and I decided that 2014 was going to be the year. So a year ago, I booked our accommodation and as soon as the tickets were on sale, we went the whole hog – five day tickets.

Nearly 60 hours of music. Wow, imagine that.

Admittedly, we are not skimming it. We are not camping or even glamping. We have rented a very adult house in Bangalow that comes with a pool and spa. We will have a proper shower to stand under to wash off the mud and sweat. And the day will end with a comfy mattress to rest our weary heads and backs upon.

I have been reliably informed everyone wears gumboots or wellies so I hope mine arrive on time. They even have a name – the Viking Adora. I do hope they are adorable (but mostly comfortable).

My back and legs will be sore and I will probably never EVER want to queue again. As for portaloos, the more I think about them the more I am dreading them. Thank god for disposable disinfectant wipes and an invention called Go Girl so I can wee standing up! (My husband just shakes his head…)

I am prepared and armed with as much information as I can be. Now it’s just a matter of showing up in my wellies and expect the unexpected.

I hope to be able to report back in one piece.

Bring it on, Byron Bay Bluesfest!!

This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Festival Virgin

  1. Kate Gabb says:

    Gum boot week at Aldi if yours don’t arrive in time!!!

    Kate Gabb 0411 042 035

    >

Leave a Reply

