The Experimental Summer

It’s been 199 days or 6 months 16 days since my last blog post. I admit I got a bit bored with it. After all, I had proved that I can blog and I can have followers. There must be millions of us out in blog land that have been forgotten. But if you are still following me, thank you! And for those who spam me with comments on how I can blog better, LEAVE ME ALONE! I don’t need you.

So let’s go back to an old fave, my veggies. I have a good feeling about them this year. I have mostly given up on winter crops as it takes excruciatingly long for them to do anything. But spring has hit with a vengeance with summer on the cusp. And I can’t wait to see what happens.

What am I growing? Beans, tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber, spring onions, basil, spinach, beetroot, zucchini, watermelon and rockmelon.

It’s the year of the experimental summer. The melons need so much room – 100cms between plants, that’s a tough call. So I am growing one seedling each in a potato bag and one in the veggie patch. I am so over pests and bugs that attack my food, I have decided to split my veg into different locations, hoping at least some of them will survive the heat and the bugs. I haven’t come across one garlic and chilli spray, homemade or not, that kills those pesky bugs. So here’s hoping neem oil does the job this year. As for rats and possums, they only seem to attack my veg in the backyard. Thank you to husband Dean who has repaired the cages he built for me a couple of years ago.

Finally, my fruit trees. They have been in the ground for over 2 years now. And zilch fruit. Lots of flowers but no fruit yet. How much longer do we have to wait? I remain ever hopeful this year. Oranges, mandarins, cherries nectarines, figs, apples, limes and lemons. Good in theory when we planted them but no one told me it comes with years of patience!

This entry was posted in Food, Going Green and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

